1. Knowledge Base
  2. General
  3. Licensing & Updates

I need to change my payment details for plugin renewals

When you buy one of our plugins, an annual subscription is created which will renew the plugin each year.

If you paid by credit/debit card

If you paid by credit or debit card and need to change your payment details, then you can do this via your Account page. For example, you might have switched bank account or changed your debit or credit card.

To do this, you need to log in to your Account and go to the Subscriptions tab. You will then see an ‘Update Payment Method’ link which you can use to change your payment details.

If you paid via PayPal

To change the payment method in PayPal, you need to change the default payment method in your PayPal account.

You don’t need to change anything relating to our plugin as it will happen automatically after you remove the old payment method in PayPal.

Can I change payment methods?

It’s not possible to change your payment method, for example to switch from a PayPal subscription to credit or debit card payments.

If you need to do this then we recommend that you cancel your existing subscription and re-purchase the plugin using your new payment method.

I’m a developer – can I transfer the subscription to my client?

If you’re a developer and bought the plugin on behalf of a client, then you can transfer your account and subscription to them if you paid by credit card. This is more cost-effective for your client than cancelling your subscription and asking them to re-purchase the plugin in a year, because if you keep the subscription active then you “lock in” the current price and are protected from future price increases.

This is how to transfer your plugin license to a client:

  1. Log into your Account and update all the personal information (including the email address) to use the client’s details.
  2. Give the the account login details to the client.
  3. Ask the client to log into their account and use the instructions above to update the credit card information with their own. (Please note that the client will NOT have access to your credit card information from when you bought the plugin.)

Unfortunately if you paid via PayPal then you can transfer your account to the client, but not your ongoing subscription. The only option is to cancel the subscription and either ask your client to renew manually when the license key expires, or re-purchase the plugin under a new account. We recommend re-purchasing by the client, because this will set up a new annual subscription for the client, which will protect them against future price increases.

Still need help?
If searching the knowledge base hasn't answered your question, please contact support.

Related Articles