1. Knowledge Base
  2. WooCommerce Protected Categories
  3. FAQ

What happens if someone clicks on a direct link to a protected product?

If an unauthorized user clicks on a direct link to a product in a protected WooCommerce category – for example because they know the URL or you have ticked the option to show protected products in public parts of your site – then this is what happens.

Products in password protected categories

If the product is in a password protected category then they will be shown the password entry form. They must enter a correct password in order to view the product.

Before entering the password, they will not be able to see the product content within such as the description, images or price. Depending on your theme, they may be able to see the title. In the below example, you can see the product title in the breadcrumb trail but the actual product is protected.

Direct link password protected category WooCommerce

Products in role or user protected categories

If the product is in a role or user protected category then they will be shown whichever page you selected in the ‘When logged out’ option on the plugin settings page.

Please note that if the product is in a category which is password protected and restricted based on role or user, then they will be shown the password entry form instead.

Still need help?
If searching the knowledge base hasn't answered your question, please contact support.

Related Articles